The life and works of Sir William Price in six scenes

Permanent exhibition

Held from 1997 to 2011, this exhibition described the extraordinary saga of the family Price, beginning with their ancestor’s arrival in Quebec. It was in 1810 that William Price landed in Quebec City and, eleven years later,  founded the William Price Company. An astute entrepreneur, he specializes in forestry and the timber trade, areas in which he becomes very successful. However, it’s his foray to the Saguenay in 1838 that will allow Price to become one of the leading businessmen of his time.

With the founding of William Price & Sons Company, he gradually retires in order to pass the reins of the new company to his sons, David Edward, William Evan and Evan John. The latter turns to his nephew William Price III to insure succession. When he becomes head of Price Brothers & Company Limited, the future Sir William Price opts for the production of pulp, paper and cardboard at his Jonquière mill. In order to further distinguish himself in the international arena, he establishes the company town of Kénogami in 1911, and builds a large pulp and paper mill there. Through his investments in this thriving industry, William Price III is set to become one of the most influential businessmen in Canada, and this until his tragic death in October 1924.

Paper Empire

Others exhibitions

ABC-1211-300x300

Exposition Empire de papierThe Saguenay-Lac-Saint-Jean region bears the traces of a rich industrial history. The great adventure that is pulp and paper has greatly contributed to shaping our landscape and our identity.

However, like any other industry, forestry is constantly changing, marked by highs and lows, straight lines and crossroads. A little review of the past shows how creativity is essential to the sustainability of this industry.

Local heritage: the passage of time

Others exhibitions

Patrimoine d'ici : passage du tempsAs part of Saguenay, Cultural Capital of Canada 2010, visitors were invited to view this exhibition featuring plans of the houses in Kénogami, the first company town in the Saguenay. These houses are the traces of the creation of Kénogami, a unique municipality having been planned for the well-being of the workers and managers of Price Brothers Company. Using a few plans, the exhibition sheds light on the heritage that these houses represent, serving as an inspiration to renovate and enhance a heritage home, respecting its ancestry.

Arvida: American invasion of the Saguenay

Others exhibitions

Exposition Arvida: invasion américaine au SaguenayThe temporary exhibition, Arvida: American invasion of the Saguenay, presented historical photographs relating to the development of the commercial, recreational and institutional infrastructure in the former company town of Arvida. The exhibition illustrated the daily life of citizens of the time, showing the business district, schools, sports teams, cultural activities and places of worship. It allowed one to discover a former company town unique in North America while recalling various memories of people who still maintain their pride in being from Arvida. The temporary exhibition, translated into English, was held in 2009.

Jonquière: the lost downtown

Others exhibitions

Exposition Jonquière : le centre-ville perduThe temporary exhibition, Jonquière: the lost downtown, displayed several unique photographs depicting various periods in the development of downtown Jonquière. The exhibition illustrated, through the streets, buildings and places that have marked its history, the growth of this urban sector, as well as its decline starting in the 1970s. Thus, we discover the causes responsible for the decline of the downtown area, once bustling and busy. The exhibition was presented in 2007 and 2008.


Contact Info

1994, rue Price, C.P. 2314
Jonquière (Québec) G7X 7X8

Téléphone : (418) 695-7278
Télécopieur : (418) 695-7172
info@sirwilliamprice.com

Facebook

La vie et l’œuvre de Sir William Price en six tableaux

Exposition permanente

Cette exposition tenue de 1997 à 2011 relatait la singulière saga familiale des Price dès l’arrivée de leur ancêtre au Québec. C’est en 1810, que William Price débarque à Québec  et, onze ans plus tard, qu’il fonde la William Price Company. Entrepreneur avisé, il se spécialise dans l’exploitation forestière et le commerce du bois, domaines où il connaîtra beaucoup de succès. Cependant, c’est son incursion au Saguenay en 1838 qui permettra à Price de devenir l’un des grands hommes d’affaires de son temps.

Avec la fondation de la William Price & Sons Company, il se retire graduellement dans le but de léguer les rênes de la nouvelle entreprise à ses fils David Edward, William Evan et Evan John. Ce dernier se tourne vers son neveu William Price III pour assurer la relève. Lorsqu’il prend la direction de la Price Brothers & Company Limited, le futur Sir William Price opte pour la production de pulpe, de carton et de papier dans son usine de Jonquière. Afin de s’illustrer davantage sur la scène internationale, il établit la ville de compagnie de Kénogami en 1911 et y construit une importante usine de pâtes et papiers. Grâce à ses investissements dans cette industrie prospère, William Price III sera appelé à devenir l’un des hommes d’affaires les plus influents au Canada, et ce, jusqu’à sa mort tragique en octobre 1924.

Empire de papier

Autres expositions

ABC-1211-300x300

Exposition Empire de papierLa région du Saguenay-Lac-St-Jean porte les traces d’une riche histoire industrielle. La grande aventure des pâtes et papiers a donc fortement contribué au modelage de notre paysage et de notre identité.

Or, comme tout autre secteur d’activité, la foresterie est en perpétuelle évolution, marquée de hauts et de creux, de lignes droites et de tournants importants. Une petite revue de cette histoire nous montre à quel point la créativité est essentielle à la pérennité de cette entreprise.

Patrimoine d’ici : passage du temps

Autres expositions

Patrimoine d'ici : passage du tempsDans le cadre de Saguenay, Capitale culturelle du Canada 2010, les visiteurs ont été invités à venir admirer cette exposition qui mettait en lumière des plans de maisons de Kénogami, première ville de compagnie du Saguenay. Ces maisons sont les traces de la mise en place de Kénogami, une municipalité unique ayant été planifiée pour le mieux-être des travailleurs et des dirigeants de la Price Brothers Company. À partir de quelques plans, l’exposition lève le voile sur le patrimoine bâti de ces maisons et sert d’inspiration pour rénover et valoriser une demeure patrimoniale dans le respect de ses origines ancestrales.

Arvida: invasion américaine au Saguenay

Autres expositions

Exposition Arvida: invasion américaine au SaguenayL’exposition temporaire, Arvida: invasion américaine au Saguenay, présentait des photographies historiques liées au développement d’infrastructures commerciales, récréatives et institutionnelles de l’ancienne ville de compagnie, Arvida. L’exposition illustrait la vie quotidienne des citadins de l’époque par l’entremise des rues commerciales, des écoles, des équipes sportives, des activités culturelles et des lieux de cultes. Elle a su faire découvrir une ancienne ville de compagnie unique en Amérique et tout en remémorerant différents souvenirs aux gens ayant conservé leur fierté arvidienne. L’exposition temporaire, traduite en anglais, était présentée en 2009.

Jonquière : le centre-ville perdu

Autres expositions

Exposition Jonquière : le centre-ville perduL’exposition temporaire, Jonquière : le centre-ville perdu,  permettait d’admirer plusieurs photographies uniques retraçant les diverses périodes relatives au développement du centre-ville jonquiérois. L’exposition illustre, à travers les rues, les bâtiments et les lieux ayant marqué son histoire, la croissance de ce secteur urbain, de même que son déclin à partir des années 1970. Ainsi, il était possible de connaître les causes qui furent à l’origine de la morosité de ce centre-ville, autrefois animé et achalandé. L’exposition temporaire était présentée en 2007 et en 2008.


Coordonnées

1994, rue Price, C.P. 2314
Jonquière (Québec) G7X 7X8

Téléphone : (418) 695-7278
Télécopieur : (418) 695-7172
info@sirwilliamprice.com

Facebook